|MyGradeBook Help Menu|
School Years Screen
This screen is used to create and manage school year records used by other features, such as archiving section codes and creating archive files. It is accessed by clicking the Toolkit link, followed by the Year End link, followed by the School Years link.
Adding a School Year Record
Click the add button to add a school year. The screen will reload with data entry fields for name, start date, and end date. You must click the save button to create the school year record.
The school years that you define must have unique names and their date ranges may not overlap. If you do not enter a name, a name will be derived from the 4-digit calendar years during which the school year begins and ends. For example, a school year beginning in 2005 and ending in 2006 will be named "2005 - 2006".
Editing a School Year Record
You may edit an existing school year by clicking the edit button. The screen will reload with data entry fields populated with the current name, start date, and end date. You must click the save button to save your changes.
Deleting a School Year Record
You may delete an existing school year by clicking the delete button. You will be prompted to click the delete button again to confirm your deletion, or you may click the cancel button.
Note: You may not edit or delete a school year for which the section codes have been archived, or for which there is a pending archive file request or an available archive file that has not yet been downloaded. If edit or delete buttons are not shown for a school year, use the the Toolkit > Year End > Archive Section Codes screen to unarchive or delete archived section codes, or use the Toolkit > Year End > Archive Files screen to check the status and download or delete the available archive file.
Removing Student Passwords
If a school year has ended, there will be a "remove student passwords" button shown. The "remove student passwords" button is used by groups that want to prevent the classes in a completed school year from being displayed in the class drop down shown to students and parents when they log in. Typically, groups that want to suppress the display of old classes, use the "remove student passwords" button once just before a new school begins.